Weekend for remembering…

There is just something about the silence of dawn at the national cemetery. Those few hours before the public enters, when the fog is just starting to raise from the earth and the tips of the stones are just poking up within it. It’s a sight, a spirit that just can’t quite be described. I only regret that I had neither my camera or sketchbook with me to capture the moment. Words alone fail. We were there early to get ready for the service.

An hour later, I stood with my adopted daughter while she waited to stand up and speak about her dear Father. She clutched his flag to her chest as if by doing so, she could feel him with her again. When she stood up and walked forward to place her Father’s flag beside the POW-MIA memorial, it was all I could do not to completely lose it. Then she began to speak about her Father and the example of living that he taught her and her brother and I saw the wise and wonderful young lady and warrior that she has become. Her words were so very profound and touched the hearts of everyone there. I am so damn proud of her.

Leave a Reply

Today is the First day in the rest of your Life!

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Views

  • 586 Curiosities
Lisa Jayne Irvine

Artist, Sculptor & Painter - whose curiosity inspires her process, work and life...

Janell Mithani

Painter: reflective, radiant, relational.

my so called artist life

Just another WordPress.com site

gypsyscaravan

my artistic endeavors

MORE THAN PIXELS

by Matthias Longueville

Stories for the Heart

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; He is mine forever. ~ Psalm 73:26/NLT ~

womanwalkininfaith

4 out of 5 people recommend this WordPress.com site

200 words

200 words on insanity, and some such nonsense

ArtLikeWhoa

dosomethingamazing

Brotherly Love

A personal exploration of autism from a brother’s perspective, including family relationships, philosophy, neuroscience, mental health history and ethics

