The Tinkerer

C. Douglas M. Macilroy

C. Douglas M. Macilroy

HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE!

This is a write for Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers. This week it IS Science Fiction. Very busy with Easter preparations so I’ll do my best to read others. Hope you enjoy…

They said I’d never be able to go home again. I wouldn’t be able to breathe the air. Artificial lungs couldn’t handle the impurities of the atmosphere. I intend to prove them wrong, and I have.

Old technology did it. I found the scuba gear being traded in the bottoms of the space station, it was rusted so I got a good deal. I tinkered with it for months.

Today, I used the public transporter, and I sent myself home. I was excited to see my children. I never intended to terrify them…

(99w)

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shandra
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 14:33:52

    In our excitement to be with those we love & miss we often overlook it how our changed return might affect them. Unintentional Terror. Well done.

    Reply

  2. Judah First
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 19:16:53

    I love science fiction! ๐Ÿ™‚ The only sentence I had real problems with was: I intend to prove them wrong, and I have.

    Seems to me intended would work better, but maybe that’s just me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. sustainabilitea
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 23:01:32

    I like the combination of sci-fi and the realism of scaring the children. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to also put your title between your intro and your story so the break between the two is clear.

    Happy Easter to you, too.

    janet

    Reply

  4. K.Z.
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 03:43:27

    This is great. i read it as both sci-fi and a metaphor for reality. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • faithsfire
      Apr 23, 2014 @ 11:50:25

      Thanks! I’ll have to look at it again for the metaphor. I do these writes off the cuff and sometimes have to reread after comments. I enjoy your writes! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  5. rochellewisoff
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 10:24:26

    Dear Faith,

    I echo Janet. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply

  6. patriciaruthsusan
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 19:15:45

    Good story. I agree it a good mixture of sci-fi and today’s world. I just hope our air never gets that bad. I hope also that if there are ever artificial lungs they can handle it no matter what. Well done and Happy Easter.

    Reply

  7. aliciajamtaas
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 20:43:59

    What a good “hitch” at the end! Bravo! ( did you mean bottom instead of bottoms when speaking of the space station?) Happy Easter to you.

    Reply

  8. lingeringvisions by Dawn
    Apr 20, 2014 @ 23:16:51

    That last line made me laugh. Cute story with a happy ending, yay!

    Reply

  9. weltchysnotebook
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 21:29:42

    Good use of imagination

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Today is the First day in the rest of your Life!

April 2014
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Views

  • 586 Curiosities
Lisa Jayne Irvine

Artist, Sculptor & Painter - whose curiosity inspires her process, work and life...

Janell Mithani

Painter: reflective, radiant, relational.

my so called artist life

Just another WordPress.com site

gypsyscaravan

my artistic endeavors

MORE THAN PIXELS

by Matthias Longueville

Stories for the Heart

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; He is mine forever. ~ Psalm 73:26/NLT ~

womanwalkininfaith

4 out of 5 people recommend this WordPress.com site

200 words

200 words on insanity, and some such nonsense

ArtLikeWhoa

dosomethingamazing

Brotherly Love

A personal exploration of autism from a brotherโ€™s perspective, including family relationships, philosophy, neuroscience, mental health history and ethics

