Adeiu sweet dystopia…

Last night, I viewed a program on the Therensdadt Orchestra and Choir.

Last night, my mind was filled with the old dreams again. I walked through the camps as a prisoner, seeing the horrors, hearing the pure hatred from the enemies lips. Therensdadt, an utopia of sorts… designed, manipulated, created as nothing more than propaganda smoke screen to the world. And sadly, all too sadly, the world fell for it for way too long.

in my dreams, I am there…

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. S(t)ri
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 14:17:33

    Wow!! We have the same theme!!! ❤ Nice take on the prompt loved it totally!

    ~S(t)ri
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

    Reply

    • faithsfire
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:31:34

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll get out to read yours in a little while. I love writing dystopian tales…they remind us of what could be, or what could’ve been if something had been done differently. 🙂

      Reply

  2. storydivamg
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 17:04:05

    Was this your FF response this week? I got an error message when clicking on the link, but it did take me to your blog. Your title drew me in. I’ve been stuck on post-apocalyptic stuff lately and was interested to read your flash. This time its a dystopian dream, I wonder if the narrator is having those nightmares as flashbacks or a premonition.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Reply

  3. rochellewisoff
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 23:25:51

    Dear FF,

    You’ve hit on a subject near and dear to my heart. Reads like the musings of a survivor. Well done. I’m sorry I didn’t get you linked sooner.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply

    • faithsfire
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:27:20

      Rochelle,
      I’ve had several people say similar that when I write about WWII it’s so real that they mistake me for an actual survivor. I’ve spent decades with real survivors, learning their stories and I suppose it rubbed off. We need to remember so that we (as a new generation untouched by such) can assure that such events NEVER EVER happen again. Chalom, and L’chaim!

      Reply

      • rochellewisoff
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:30:15

        If you go back through my flash fictions, many of them deal with WW2 and the Holocaust. B’rachot, blessings in your mission to keep the memory alive.
        Yesterday there were three people shot dead at Jewish sites in KC by a crazed gunman spouting “Heil Hitler.” I read your story shortly after getting the news, so the wound was reopened.

      • faithsfire
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:37:40

        I just saw that on the news. I just came home from Powwow and Naming Ceremonies this weekend. Such tragedy. I will sing Kadish with my Jewish friends this day. I will wrap you in a prayer as well, dear Rochelle. Wish I could reach through and hug you right this minute.

        I was going to share with you my good news from this weekend, but it hardly seems appropriate. If you’re up to good news, though, check out my blog entry for this morning.

        May God wrap you in his unfailing love, and hold your soul within his grasp, ever and always. Shalom! (hugs)

      • rochellewisoff
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:39:12

        Always up for Good news. Thank you for the Kaddish.

        My first novel, waiting a home, has the working title “Please Say Kaddish for Me”

      • faithsfire
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:48:43

        Let me know when it’s for sale. I don’t have paypal and such so I’ll have to find a way to get it, but I’d really like to add it to my collection of writings from my Jewish friends. 🙂

      • rochellewisoff
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:50:42

        First it has to find a publisher. I do have an anthology of short stories available through me. 😉 No need for paypal. Pardon the shameless advert. A couple of those stories are very Jewish in nature.

      • faithsfire
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 12:56:24

        I already have the short stories. They are AWESOME!
        They were a gift from Daniel.

      • rochellewisoff
        Apr 14, 2014 @ 13:01:55

        Cool…nice to know it’s making the rounds. :D. The stories “The Curse” and “Suri’s Heart” are from my novel. The latter being loosely based on what was once the prologue.

  4. patrickprinsloo
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 15:40:15

    Great reminder.

    Reply

  5. sustainabilitea
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 19:54:20

    I’m not Jewish, but I’ve read so much about WWII and your story rings much too true. Glad I checked back today to see if there were more stories.

    One small thing: “enemies lips” needs an apostrophe. 🙂

    janet

    Reply

    • faithsfire
      Apr 16, 2014 @ 20:11:53

      Pbs has a series online right now that tells of the history of the Jewish peoples from the time of Genesis when they were called “Hebrews” to modern day. I believe it’s 4-5 episodes long.

      Yeah, I should have caught that error.

      Reply

  6. elmowrites
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 20:49:26

    A powerful story, I like the repetition of Last night, and then taking us to the speaker’s dreams. I think you need a capital on “in my dreams”, unless it’s an artistic point I’m missing

    Reply

  7. atrm61
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 20:47:57

    Way to go Faithsfire!Your story is a gentle reminder lest we forget,what real nightmares are about!

    Reply

  8. newpillowbook
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 22:20:00

    Old terrors still have the power to hurt, alas. Well written.

    Reply

  9. patriciaruthsusan
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 22:56:53

    Powerful story and well written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Today is the First day in the rest of your Life!

April 2014
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Views

  • 592 Curiosities
Lisa Jayne Irvine

Artist, Sculptor & Painter - whose curiosity inspires her process, work and life...

Janell Mithani

Painter: reflective, radiant, relational.

my so called artist life

Just another WordPress.com site

gypsyscaravan

my artistic endeavors

MORE THAN PIXELS

by Matthias Longueville

Stories for the Heart

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; He is mine forever. ~ Psalm 73:26/NLT ~

womanwalkininfaith

4 out of 5 people recommend this WordPress.com site

200 words

200 words on insanity, and some such nonsense

ArtLikeWhoa

dosomethingamazing

Brotherly Love

A personal exploration of autism from a brother’s perspective, including family relationships, philosophy, neuroscience, mental health history and ethics

